Lions are common symbols of strength, power, ferocity and stateliness, hence the phrase ‘king of the jungle’.

Lion pride | Animals Zone
1. Known as the most social of all big cats, lions live together in groups, called prides. A pride consists of about 15 individuals: three males, a dozen related females, and their cubs.

Lion females and their cubs | Animals Zone
2. Males and females take on very different roles in the pride. Male lions defend the pride’s territory and guarding their cubs, while female lions do most of the hunting.

King of the jungle | Animals Zone
3. Male lions grow up to 10 feet (3 meters) in length and weigh around 330 to 550 pounds (150 to 250 kg), while female lions are smaller, growing up to 9 feet (2.7 m) in length and weighing between 265 to 395 pounds (120 to 180 kg).

Roar | Animals Zone
4. A lion’s roar can be heard from five miles away.

Lion eyes | Animals Zone
5. Lions have a terrific, highly developed night vision.

Sleeping lion | Animals Zone
6. A lion may sleep up to 20 hours each day.

10 Interesting Facts about Lions | Animals Zone

| Animals Zone

7. Lions can go four days without drinking.

Momma Lion and her Cub | Animals Zone
8. Female lions mate about every 2 years, giving birth to 2-3 cubs at a time after a three-and-half-month gestation period.

Baby lions | Animals Zone
9. Usually female lions in a pride give birth about the same time. The cubs are then raised together, sometimes nursing communally.

Lion snuggle | Animals Zone
10. Lions live about 15 years in the wild. Zoo lions can live longer, up to their 20s.

Don’t forget to follow us on Pinterest for more awesome pictures!


Image 1Image 2Image 3Image 4Image 5Image 6Image 7Image 8Image 9Image 10